powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2003 - 7:00 p.m.

So I don't have television. None at all. No satellite, no cable (digital or otherwise), no rabbit ears augmented with tin foil. There are some great aspects to this situation. I'm reading more than I have in a long time, which is fantastic. I have no idea what's up with Joe freaking Millionaire, which is also a wonderful thing. I don't need to eat dinner before any programs come on, so I'm spending more time cooking.

Problem is, I like television. Quite a bit. I understand that there is a lot of crap on TV, but there's much to love as well. I'm bothered by folks who refuse to watch TV on principle. I understand the arguments, about the bombardments of advertisements and the inane content of many programs, which gets worse with every wave of new reality shows that come out. However, many folks just latch on to other activities and are exposed to just as much of the idiocy of the modern world as I do sitting at home watching The West Wing or CSI. A coworker of mine is raising a daughter in a home with no television, and I have to wonder how she's going to turn out, if she's going to be a mess when she hits her teens, missing out on too much of popular culture to be properly socialized, or if she'll be the only one in her class that can pay attention to anything for more than 90 seconds.

Whatever. What I'm really trying to say is that it's rather cold outside and I just want to stay in and watch the Discovery Channel.

Neil Halstead, Sleeping on Roads

Heading to the free bluegrass show at Galopagos so that I'm not the creepy guy holed up in his room playing with the intern

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!