powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Sept. 15, 2002 - 2:39 p.m.

My apartment's like a refugee camp these days. There's a couple of sound guys in town from Massachusetts working on fashion week here. Before that there was a couple of friends whose bedroom ceiling collapsed. Their two cats are still here.

I was hoping to be playing hockey today, but due to the forgetfulness of myself and others, I never got registered. I need to remember that when some people say, "don't worry, I'll take care of that for you", it means "you'd best do that yourself if you want it done." Thus, instead of playing hockey on Sundays, I'll be working or doing laundry or spending time down in Georgia. Today it was laundry.

This week was a rollercoaster of love and hatred for my career. Upon returning from Georgia at the beginning of the week, I started working on this city-wide 9/11 memorial. There were noisy satellite feeds and uppity broadcast engineers and incompetent producers and a sixty piece orchestra to deal with. At the end of the day, none of us really cared about the fact that the event was a memorial. It was just another goddamn show to get done.

I spent the next two days striking the summer festival. I was cranky the whole time, feeling like I didn't have enough time, or labor support to get the job done. The fact that, as a senior member of the production staff, I still need to do things like pull a two hundred foot, two and a half inch diameter audio snake through a conduit filled with murky, pungent brown water of unknown origin didn't help either. I left Friday afternoon with my duties unfinished.

I was up to my neck in dread for my job when I showed up for work yesterday afternoon. It was an Afropop show in a theater which has been a regular gig for me for the last few years. The venue's temperamental gear gave me no problems, and the band was awesome. It was the group's first trip to the United States and they were quite excited. About twenty minutes into the show it hit me: perhaps this is a cool job after all. crap. I wish that I could just be content with my job, instead of either loving or hating it on a day to day basis.

I need a shower.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!