powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jun. 10, 2002 - 10:20 a.m.

So I'm in Georgia right now. I'll be back in NYC tomorrow afternoon, heading straight from the airport to work, so that I can supervise the hanging of the main speaker clusters. Prior to flying down to Georgia on Saturday morning, I had worked a good seven straight days, with multiple jobs on some of those days. It hasn't been too bad. I have an assistant at the summer festival where I'm the system/monitor engineer. His name's Tommy, and I've known him since he was an intern four years ago. Having an assistant is great. For the last week, I've been able to give orders and have the labor done while I do paperwork and have meetings. Every once in a while I have to inspect the work being done and point out errors ("You guys are running that cable backwards", "If you don't fix this mistake there's a good chance somebody will get killed", etc.), but it has made my life a whole lot easier.

As I said, I'm in Georgia. My cats were confused to see me, as they had assumed that I had been eaten by a bobcat or some other predator (That's what cats do when somebody is gone for an extended period of time). Saturday we went to a barbeque thrown by one of Heather's colleagues, followed by catching a show at the Engine Room. Fun band, shitty PA, kids in mohawks hopping around like crazy. It felt like high school.

Sunday, we had brunch at the Grit and wen to Target. In the evening, Heather had this jounalism camp thing to teach, so I was on my own for dinner. I ended up at the local brewpub, where I consumed a roast beef sandwich, a bowl of cheddar ale soup, and two pints of altbier. I headed home and tried to watch O Brother, Where art Thou?, but lost interest pretty quickly.

The question for today is, do I go see Eric Bachmann from the Archers of Loaf/Crooked Fingers play tonight, or do I go to the Mates of State/Appleseed Cast show?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!