powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, May. 14, 2002 - 5:44 p.m.

I went out in search of some things I wanted in Manhattan, to no avail. I went to Kmart to buy a hat, bu foound nothing that I wanted. I liked Kmart a lot better ten years ago when their clothing lines were tailored toward old men. I used to buy a lot of my clothes there. Now, I can't find a single item that I'd like to purchase there. "Young" and "cool" fashions have never really appealed to me. I don't think I ever wore an Ocean Pacific t-shirt in junior high school. If I did, I'm sure that I felt like a liar while I had it on. It probably didn't help that I never seemed to shop in the same stores for clothes as the other kids. I don't know how this happened. It's not like I was shopping in bizarre places. I couldn't have been the only kid getting his clotes at Macy's. Nevertheless, my clothes never looked quite right.

So I stopped caring. Then I discovered punk rock, which just caused me to look stupid for several years. I was so bad at looking like a punk rocker that I not only looked like an ass compared to the general population, I looked stupid within the eastern Pennsylvania punk community. Fortunately, by the end of high school, I had adopted the utilitarian dork look, which I still follow to this day. It's a good way to go. I never worry about splitting my pants, or looking over- or under-dressed, and chances are, if I start to sweat, I can take off a layer.

How did this entry happen? Oh yeah. Kmart didn't have any old man hats, which I have worn for years, but constantly lose/destroy. Anyone with leads on where old folks shop in New York City should leave me a note.

I also went to the Virgin Megastore. They had neither the CD nor the magazine that I was looking for. I resisted the temptation to make impulse purchases (I suddenly felt the need to buy one or both of Tom Waits' new albums, as well as Miles Davis' Sketches of Spain). I returned home with no new purchases. It's probably for the best.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!