powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Apr. 30, 2002 - 4:34 p.m.

Slept late today, as last night was the first night of sleep that I've had in a real bed in two weeks.

I had a long weekend. Thursday afternoon I took tha bus down to Philadelphia, where I met up with Tom, JB, and others. I had a disappointing pork sandwich at Manny Brown's and drank large quantities of Yuengling Lager at Locust Bar.

Friday Morning I rented a car to drive down to D.C./Virginia for the weekend. I ended up with a Buick Century, which is one of those colossal old man cars, which was perfect for all the highway driving that I had to do. The car had a CD player, so I drove south listening to a healthy dose of the Hollies, Johnny Cash, and Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds. I ended up having to wait for an hour and a half at Dulles airport for Heather's flight to get in. The directions to my brother's apartment in Arlington were wrong, so I got to see a bit of D.C. before finally getting to my destination.

Heather and I went out Friday night with my brother and his wife. It was nice to see them and hang out with them outside of the presence of the rest of our family. After a nice dinner, we went to a bar that they frequent. I was surprised to find out that it was the local punk rock bar.

We had a wedding to go to in Manassas on Saturday, which turned out to be a good time. There was a whopping total of three people that I had met before at the wedding, but we had a good time.

I headed back to Philadelphia on Sunday. I couldn't return the car until Monday, so I stayed at Tom's another night. I watched the Phillies lose on TV. The classic film Anaconda was on after the game, and Tom, Josh and I ended up watching it in it's entirety, marvelling at the all-star cast. Heck, even Owen Wilson is in that film.

Monday morning I returned the car and took the bus back to NYC. I had to wait in line with this truck driver who was headed to Newark to start a job. He started going off about all the "freaks" that he sees when he takes the bus, referring to the two kids with purple hair behind us in line, and some girl that he met who had lots of piercing. I managed to keep my mouth shut, instead of pointing out that I, while I have no piercings or dyed hair, have more in common with the goofy kids waiting for the bus than I'll ever have with him.

So I'm back in Brooklyn and I finally have a bedroom of my own. Back to work tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!