powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Apr. 05, 2002 - 5:44 p.m.

I went to the bank to deposit a check today. The type of checking accaount that I have doesn't allow me to interact with actual living bank tellers, so I have to use the ATM. The machine inside the bank was out of order, so I had to go to the "mug me" kiosk, which is located around the corner in this little alcove about 15 feet from the sidewalk, with ample places to hide yourself, lifeless bodies, et cetera in the shadows. Anyway, it's the middle of the day, and it's Athens, so I'm not really worried about getting mugged, but I'd like to have some space while making my transaction. As soon as I start to enter my pertinent information into the ATM, this guy walks up to me.

"Hey man", he says.

I nod and grunt in his general direction, and continue with my deposit.

"What's up?"

I am now actively ignoring him, yet manage to hit the wrong button and fuck up my transaction.

The guy is continuing to attempt to make conversation with me. I'm starting to wonder what he wants from me. If he was a panhandler, he would have gone on with his spiel and asked me for money already. If he's going to rob me, he's out of luck because I'm twice his size, and broke as well.

Flustered at failing to engage me in conversation, he says, "Well, my band's playing at AMF tonight. You're welcome to come check us out." He then storms off.

I would never go see a band play at AMF. Well, maybe 2 Live Crew if they come back though town, but probably not.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!