powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Dec. 27, 2001 - 4:47 p.m.

I'm back in Athens after travelling to south Florida for Christmas at my dad's. It was an enjoyable time for the most part. I succeeded in keeping myself out of the debate about religion that broke out Christmas eve. Not that there's not a lot that I could have said on the subject. I just don't think that my churchgoing 80+ year old grandparents who have health problems need to hear about the fact that I'm not sure that god exists. Why question what they believe at this point in their lives? I'm reminded of a conversation that I had with my mother during the brief period of time that she was regularly attending Catholic church services after being a non-practicing christian for many years. She basically told me that she was going to church because she was getting older, and sensing her own mortality, was making a play for the afterlife. Of course, I'm giving a much more streamlined, straightforward telling of her explanation. Nonetheless, it felt like she was believing in Christianity because she felt that she needed to believe in something. To me, it just seemed like a lie. Still does.

Anyway, I don't want to make it sound like I spent this holiest of holidays contemplating my relationship with god. Actually, I spent more time thinking about the fact that I've graduated from a 33 waist to a 34. I'm also pretty out of shape. I was exhausted after swimming in my dad's tiny backyard pool. I never really did any formal exercise when I lived in New York, since I felt I spent enough time walking around and lifting things. Since I got to Athens, I've become a true master of the art of sitting on my fat ass.

To anyone who actually reads this (I really don't know if anyone does), I don't recommend driving 675 miles to anywhere during Christmas, much less to Florida, even if you do get to pass a town called Yahoo Junction. The drive back is even worse.

And oh yeah, we passed an exit for Sheriff's Boy's Ranch Road. Does that sound dirty? Please let me know.

And oh yeah, happy holidays.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!